stujphoto

By stujphoto

Experimentation

My offering today comes as a result of the Pep Ventosa technique that I learnt the basics of while I was on the Lakeland Photographic Workshop last week. Basically the image is created of several views of a main subject from different angles blended together either as a multi exposure in camera or through merging layers in Photoshop. Both my examples used the multi-exposure method in camera. The overall image is quite impressionistic. The one I did today was of a vase of flowers. Initially I did one covering 360 degrees in 9 exposures but I think the more successfully one was of 5 exposures covering about 180 degrees and that is the one I've blipped. I did also try to do a hand-held one of a bush this morning but that was not really successful so I have included as my extra one of a tree in the Lake District that was my very first attempt and probably the most successful one of this technique by me so far (taken about 10 days ago). The technique is very hit and miss and a matter of taste but well worth experimentation. If you are interested, try googling 'Pep Ventosa' on the internet where you will find information on the originator of the technique and several explanations of how to do it. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.