Karla at the Poor People's Campaign

Her mother arrived in the USA as a refugee, and Karla was born a month later. As she spoke of refugee children being stripped from their parents, she began to cry...and so did we all. Other speakers and members of the audience rushed toward her to put a gentle hand on her back. 

The Extra is the three lone Occupiers at the ICE Building when I got there at about 8 a.m. Their numbers have swollen to about fifty tonight. They are blocking the driveway to the ICE Building.

I have great hope in the darkness which is this country at this point in history. I wish all the children being kept in cages could know there is hope. My hope springs from the people who are rising up and saying no to this man and his friends. I hope I am not deluded. I hope that in this case, no means no. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.