Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

FOUR MORE YEARS!! YIPPEE!!!!!

At 9:13 PM MST, MSNBC announced that President Obama was projected to win the State of Ohio, putting him over the 270 electoral college votes needed to be elected as President of the United States.

Despite all of the Republicans' efforts to supress the vote, especially in the swing states this year, the people would not have any part of it. Some stood in lines for up to eight hours in order to cast their ballots in places like Florida and Ohio.

However the vote in each state turned out, the people ultimately spoke. I do believe that eventually we will need to pass a Constitutional amendment to get rid of this electoral college system which makes many people's votes virtually inconsequential. It's inevitable that the people will demand that their President be elected by popular vote.

But in the meantime, I'm going to savor this victory and support my President.

There are only two other households on my street where Democrats live. So at 9:13 PM, I went to my front door, knowing that because it is a nice night and people would have their windows open, and gave out the loudest, "Whoo hoo!!!" that my lungs could summon.

History will eventually now be the judge.

FOUR MORE YEARS!!!!!

Edit: I would be remiss if I didn't add that my best friend, Andrea Dalessandro, got elected to the AZ State House from Legislative District 2!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.