Occasionally Focused

By tsuken

First Day

... Of sorts. A few sorts, actually.

My lad had his first orientation morning at "big school" today. It was also Mrs tsuken's birthday, so I had the day off to be with her, and so we were both able to take Mstr 5 to school. He met his buddy (yr 5 kids - next year's yr 6s - are buddied up with the kindy kids to help them settle in), and the moment he saw him, launched himself at him and hugged him to bits. He is the sweetest thing in the world.

Here he is running toward the gate - and larger here.

Poor little dude was actually really sad when we left; he had it in his head - despite many explanations - that this was actually his first day at school, and he would be staying there. Poor thing. He cheered up once I dropped him back at daycare and he could tell all his younger friends there about his morning at big school, and his buddy.

Now, Mrs tsuken's birthday (the first day of her "second half", as it were). She had mail, including some things that I think might have been presents for me. And here's example two. She also got a pair of extremely cool cookbooks that my mother had shipped to her: medieval food updated, essentially.

She also got Barack Obama (so kind of the first day of his second term).

It seems The Donald had a twittersplosion when Obama won. Apparently in his universe the rest of the world is laughing at the USA for re-electing Obama ... which is funny, because I was pretty sure that sound was a chorus of "fuckyeahsanity!"

Well, before I get carried away, let's remember drones and indefinite detention, to name the first two things I can think of, and recall that in fact Obama is merely the lesser of two evils ... But what a lesser! ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.