2006

Yes!

I found another medusa at the beach while swimming / looking for something to photograph. The David Attenborough in me has met the Jacques Cousteau in me. I am terrified they will sting me, but I love how beautiful they look. They move so lightly and easily.

So today was a big day that this whole week has been aiming to. We finally applied for residence in Spain and spent the whole week stressing about all the necessary papers and today we visited police station in Elche and got the word this evening from our solicitor that we can go to her office and pick up the cards. Wohoo! I did not believe we would both get them at the first try. Not because our papers aren't in order, but because nothing has been successful at first try here. Sometimes they blame the computer, sometimes something mystical just happens. Or someone is in a lousy mood and makes judgements based on that.

On Monday I visited our local bank, because I needed a bank statement for my application. They told me that they can't help me that I would need to go to our branch in Orihuela (50 min drive from here). But she told me she would email the branch in Orihuela and ask them the send papers here and then she could print them here and put the necessary stamp (yes stamp) on them. She said she would call me. I told her I need the papers on Wednesday morning. She still hasn't called me.

So on Tuesday morning we drove to Orihuela got the papers in two minutes. and drove back. The teller also told that they could have done all that here locally. I also presented them another case here locally. We had paid our car taxes, but for some reason we could not print the paid certificate from the account and we need that for the police. Here locally the teller just told me something that she can't see what was paid and she can't so anything. (How come the reference number and the receivers bank account doesn't help?) In Orihuela, the teller checked that it was paid and put the stamp on the tax bill and it was settled. So. It always depends on who you encounter.

Today I have washed some shibori tie dyes I had tied yesterday. I really think they are so pretty! You can see them here:
https://www.instagram.com/vhgalacant/

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.