A chink of light

Morrisons as usual this morning.  Then just relaxing on the sofa catching up with TV viewing.

I had an appointment at 4.50pm with a nurse at the health centre for my " Annual Review of Long Term Conditions".  I was called in by the nurse on time and she said she would need to hurry as the courier would need to take the blood samples etc away at around 5pm.  So I was weighed and measured, I had my blood pressure taken and blood taken.  The nurse asked numerous questions while she clicked on various boxes on the computer - boy was she fast.  I was in and out in record time - and she would certainly have caught the courier by 5pm.

Next I went to the chemist to collect my repeat prescription and then I had a think about where to take my blip shot.  The Wide Wednesday theme is " Light".  Up to then it had been a really dull day but now it was beginning to brighten up a bit.  I decided to go into the Park for a wide shot of the sky. There was one patch of blue sky - but this didn't last long and the sky darkened again soon after.  Thanks to steveng for hosting.

I walked home through the allotments as usual.  And as usual I passed a few allotment holders returning to their cars after working on their allotments.  We usually just say " Hello " and carry on.  But today I had a long chat with one chap.  When we met we both started complaining about the crushed up roof tiles which have been used to cover the path - and which are really tricky to walk on. We chatted for ages about this and that including his newish allotment.  He previousluy had a small one but a few months ago moved to a bigger one.  He started explaining what he was growing and then he asked me if I wanted to have a look.  So off we went.  Its a large plot and the lady who had it previously grew mostly shrubs and flowers.  Seems strange not to grow produce - but she must have wanted flowers. There were an awful lot of sweet peas as far as I could tell.  Anyway this chap was starting to get rid of the flowers and grow fruit and veg.  So far he's got potatoes, leeks, onions, carrots and some fruit trees - and he found strawberry plants scattered all over the place and has moved them together under some netting. He showed me inside his shed - very neat and tidy with carpet on the floor.  We must have spent around 40 mins chatting about all sorts.  Even when we came out of the allotment and he was about to go back to his car he kept starting a conversation about something else.  Not that I minded - I wasn't in any hurry. 

Steps today - 8,881

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.