Lobelias, roof and torpedo.

The roofers were with us again today and they have made a very good job. I was concerned about all my plants and pots, but they were very careful and there was no damage. Now the roof look very clean with no lumps of moss to disfigure them.

Meanwhile I was indoors doing press reports and website about our WI meeting last night. It was our 48th birthday and we combined that with celebrating the centenary of the Surrey Federation. We toasted ourselves in prosecco and birthday cake. Members had brought treasures that were 100 years old, and five people gave a short talk. I read to them a letter that my grandfather had written home after his ship was torpedoed and sunk in the North Sea in 1914. It is a poignant letter and they enjoyed the story. It was an interesting meeting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.