Big Al’s Pies

This was a laugh out loud moment. CCN and I are on our way to Melbourne to see the Grandchildren and we diverted to a wonderful little village called Millthorpe for lunch. This was after a guided tour of 59’s spectacular new caravan, more of that later!!

We had seen a segment on “The Old Mill Cafe” on a recent TV show and decided it was well worth diverting for. Being a pie lover, I ordered the Beef and Shiraz Pie that I had seen on the TV show. After I had demolished it I overheard the people at the table next door ordering “Big Al’s” Beef and Shiraz Pie. CCN and I looked at each other and though we were hearing things. On inspecting the menu we discovered that in fact the pie I had demolished was in fact known as Big Al’s version of a Beef and Shiraz Pie. Many of you know that I affectionately refer to my older brother Al as Big Al. There’s a story behind this but I’ll save it for another day. The young waitress very kindly agreed to race out to the kitchen and took this wonderful image of a whole host of Big Al’s pies for me so that I could send it off to Big Brother for a laugh. That will pay me to woof into my pie with such gusto!! - oldmillcafe.com.au

59 and her husband Bob and Tom the terrier of course, live in Bathurst which is on our route to Melbourne. We took advantage of the fact and called in to see them before they head off for their big trip in their brand spanking new caravan. We’re very happy for them, it’s a really great rig and we can see them having a whale of a time in it. Safe travels to both of you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.