Walking Wombat

By WalkingWombat

Baking Day!

The only time I moved outside the house today was to a) cut some green spring onion tops in the veggie patch to go with Grandad’s Scrambled Eggs for breakfast and b) to bring in another wheelbarrow load of firewood. It was freezing this morning but brightened up as the day progressed. I spent most of the rest of the day in the kitchen and by the end of the day I had cooked a batch of banana muffins, a chutney chop lamb dish in the slow cooker (that took 5 hours) and a large pot of stewed apples.

I have an old squashie colleague calling by tomorrow on her way back to Canberra from Sydney. Barb was a top squash player in Australia in the late 60’s and early 70’s and is writing a book on squash in Australia. She’s calling by to chat to me about my humble contribution to the game. In her day we used to affectionately call her “Boom Boom Baxter” as she was able to really thump the old squash ball and had a huge presence when she was playing. So apart from cooking my heart out I spent a couple of hours going through a lot of my old squash memorabilia. Wow, what an amazing amount of memories that stirred up. All in all it was a very productive and meaningful day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.