The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

St Laurence's, Stroud

This is the main church in the centre of town, and this picture was taken from what is now Church Street car park, behind the church. I believe graves were dug up to make way for the parking spaces, and little remains of the former almshouses that were on the site, too. Just a few old buildings with a fence around them that are now a care home overlooking a car park!

I decided today to use the ten minutes I have gained in the morning (because of the school timetable change) to get some town shots on my way to work. I cut through the car park and St Laurence's church yard on the way to the library, and realised I'd never given the church a second glance, though it is a handsome one. The front entrance to the church gives on to The Shambles, Stroud's market place and home to the Old Town Hall, among other buildings. For a small market town that has only been recognised as a separate town for 708 years old, Stroud has some wonderful buildings!

More information
THe font with its wooden 'lid' was set fire to several years ago, while I was attending a meeting in the Shambles. The vandals caused thousands of pounds' worth of damage to the church interior.

My friend Simon has commented on my blip on Facebook, reminding me that the symbol of the lamb and flag represents Saint John the Baptist. I have seen it on other churches in this area, and it was also the name of a pub I frequented in Covent Garden in London in the 80s, the summer that Tracey Chapman's "Fast Car" was the only music played anywhere I went. What happened to her, I wonder?

The sky really was this blue! I'm glad I took these shots on the way in, because by the time I had finished work, the skies were back to grey again. For those who like to know what I am reading, I am pleased to report that I managed to read the whole of Sunshine on Scotland Street (Alexander McCall Smith) last night, as it was a library book due back today; and I am making progress on the audio version of Willa Cather's Song of the Lark.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.