The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Daisybank play area

Wow, what an action packed day! Doctor's at 9am for what I thought was a fasting blood test. Turned out it was 9.30, no fasting necessary! I sat and read "The Hero with a thousand faces" while I waited for the clock to tick round.

Then I breakfasted on bacon sandwiches in my favourite greasy spoon, the Penny Farthing cafe, half way up the high street. Later, at work, we had a war over a tin of chocolates and another war over some lego towers. The kids love it when we act daft! Besides, it's Thursday...

I came home via the cememtery, where I took this playground shot. My nephews in Holland took me to their playground, where there was a swing big enough for us all to sit on, plus an enclosed sandpit. Zandbak in Dutch. This one has a 'sandy area' below the climbing frame. There was once a fabulous roundabout of modern design, that looked like a vinyl LP, that tipped as well as going round and round. It made adults feel very sick, but for a few moments each time it was wonderful, and kids adored it. It was installed in 2005, and unfortunately destroyed by arsonist vandals in 2009. All is not well, even in this leafy paradise.

If you look in large, you'll get more of a sense of the place. Over yonder, on a clear day you can see the river Severn, some miles distant. Once I'd finished snapping, it was time for a quick lunch and tidy-up before my massage client arrived!

Then, my client left and we'd watched Pointless, I rustled up an amazingly quick supper, so that we could rush out to the fleapit to see National Theatre Live's encore performance of Alan Bennett's The Habit of Art, described as a play within a play. It is in part about the fractured relationship between W H Auden and Benjamin Britten in their declining years, but also about relationships within a theatre company; as well as about social class and changing attitudes to homosexuality. The play was set in 1972, and I loved the period details: A tin of Vim scouring powder, a Fray Bentos tinned pie....

And now I am off to bed to read more of The Hero with a Thousand Faces. Tomorrow is Friday and will not be one quarter as busy as today.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.