Poppies Galore!

I'm still on Greek time and was awake at 5.30am.  I managed to go back to sleep but only for half an hour and then I decided I may as well get up and go for a swim.   So I got ready, let the boys out and gave them their breakfast, and I also did a shopping list (which I forgot to take!).

The gym is opposite these wonderful poppy fields, so I took my camera but decided to wait until I'd had my swim and done the food shop, and then would park up on the way back. The field is beautiful but the poppies are a lot shorter than they've been in the past and I had to really crouch down to get the best of the shots.  On Sunday I'm coming back here with Elif, Seyran and Luca to do a photo shoot, so fingers crossed the weather's as good.

Poor Alan's still suffering with his cough and cold, but wanted to go out and get some fresh air, so once I was back and had unpacked the shopping I drove us down to the undercliff walk and we had a stroll to Rottingdean.  We sat by the beach for a while and commented how lucky we are to live by the sea and to have come back from holiday to such good weather.

When we got back to Saltdean we stopped at the White Cliffs Cafe which is under new management, and Alan had a coffee while I had a diet coke.  The new owners are starting to 'do up' the place and have a suggestions book for customers to write their ideas for improvement.  I added to the list and suggested they should have hanging baskets and planted pots to brighten the place up externally.  The lady who is one of the new managers said that someone else had suggested the same thing - I think it's good that they're looking for input.

When we got home, I decided to give the Palace a good clean out - swept, dusted and mopped the floor, and we're also in the process of draining the water from the hot tub as it recommends the water is changed from time to time.  There's a special adaptor that connects to the hose but it's trickling out quite slowly, so we think it'll take all night!  Once it's empty though, I can give it a wipe down and then we'll re-fill it and heat it up.

Anyway, my glass of wine needs topping up and the Palace is calling, so I'll wish you all a good weekend!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.