Spitting Image

Today was always going to be an emotional day for me (Annie), as it's the penultimate day of working for Lloyds Banking Group and time for my leaving do. I'd been there 10 years as a permanent member of staff, and around 15 in total - leading a team of super-techies.

Chris and I travelled down together to Bristol, and I spent the day filing and sorting and throwing out. Amazing how much paper and virtual paper you collect over the years. I'd brought in some cupcakes as a farewell gift, each one iced (not by me) as each key on a computer keyboard. Laid out as the keyboard, they looked great.

Before heading out to the pub, the office gathered for gifts and speeches to see off both me and a colleague that is retiring at the same time. Some lovely words and gifts - I felt very spoilt. The gift with the most visual impact was this brilliant Annie-as-a-balloon: she came with me to the bar for the party, and the was walked through the streets to the hotel afterwards, getting some double takes!). 

A great party in a local bar afterwards, with colleagues and former colleagues gathering. The thing I've always loved about working with this group is their warmth, humour and friendliness. I'll miss them!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.