Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Flower Friday

I was spoiled for choices today, but decided to go with this rather simple shot with a big thanks to Anni for continuing to host FlowerFriday.  And, of course, since I can't just blip a flower, I had to include a little extra something - in this case a rather beautiful moth.  I have no idea what kind of moth it is, but will endeavor to find out and stop back and edit this when/if I do.  It's a Hickory Tussock Moth.  I had so many caterpillars of this species in the fall, I should have figured this one out.  

I was up early today and decided to head north to Wallkill River Nat'l Wildlife Refuge.  I had a wonderful 2.5 mile walk with many interesting sightings of birds, insects and even a mink.  The weather was perfect for photography - overcast but with good, even light.  Which meant that I just continued pointing my camera at things when I got home this afternoon.  

My other four favorite shots from today can be seen starting HERE with some very friendly flies.  Worth a look if you have a few minutes.  The first two shots were my other two contenders for today's blip.  

Thunderstorms in the forecast tomorrow, so I'll probably stay close to home.  

I am not certain, but think there are still two male wrens here.  I'll snoop around a bit tomorrow and see what I can see.  In the meantime, I can hear all the fledged baby wrens chipping up in the trees with respective mothers busily feeding them.  No help from Papa since he's defending the territory.

Happy Friday!
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.