Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Gardening

Gym ✖️

No time for gym today. Besides, I’m contemplating freezing my membership for a few months. I can do my bike instead, because the cross trainer isn’t particularly helping my hamstrings.

Instead, once Becky had taken Archie off for a play in the park, I set to on the big old camellia bush root, which I’d spent quite a bit of time on yesterday. I sawed, hacked, chopped and used my crowbar, and eventually it gave in and came out. Which did not help my already sore back.

However, by sitting on the wee coffee table, I could bend over quite comfortably to weed, lay pavers etc.

JR did her executive housekeeping, then went off to the garden centre to buy some plants and garden edging. The edging she bought was wood, but we'll stain it black to go with the bench. And it was easy to cut to length and to bang in with the axe. Well, no - it wasn’t easy, but JR did a great job.

Archie was a great help (not) but he especially loved the empty plastic plant pots. He goes crazy for them.

Should finish it off tomorrow. We've been contemplating this wee bit of the front garden for ages, so it's great to get it done at last.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.