The Will To Live

Dear Diary,

I came across this old tree at the edge of a field and I just had to pull over and photograph it.  The trunk, which was quite large, was completely hollow, only the thinnest layer of bark survived yet there was a  large limb at the top in full leaf and another growing on the other side.  I found it stunning.  I don't know how it was strong enough to support the weight of those limbs.  This old tree, which by any measure should have toppled over and died long ago, continues to thrive.

I have to admit that I found it very inspiring.  As we age we all acquire physical deficiencies.  Lately, my hip has been giving me a bit of bother but now, when it acts up, I will think of this old tree bravely carrying on and I will try to take a lesson from that.  Don't give up, find a way, just get on with your precious life.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.