a town called E.

By Eej

Unlike the owner of this yard, who I imagine stumbled outside around midnight and transferred his disappointment to his sign and left it there for all to see, I've been feeling quite happy today. Elated even. And utterly sleep deprived. And relieved.

I was so scared I spend the evening with the TV off and very little internet but around 10 I started to crumble. Which was timely because that's when it started to get good.

I cried a little - for the step forward, for my friends that are looking (marriage) equality in the face, for people from the other side saying things like: 'It's time we step into the 21st century', for hope.

I've decided to apply for citizenship when I can take the oath and stand behind it with all my heart. We're getting there. With small steps, but moving forward nonetheless.


ps. It's an odd phenomenon and the second time I've witnessed it: the concession speech shows the candidate with more character and honesty than seen during the entire campaign. I recall thinking 4 years ago; "Well, if I'd seen more of THIS man ..." and I thought the same thing last night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.