Schlepper

A German word for tractor and I think most can derive why from the Yiddish and British word "schlep".

A 1957 IHC - McCormick D320 tractor built in Neuss in Germany. McCormick also manufactured tractors in the UK. The photo was taken in the late afternoon at the council compost/recycling yard. I had taken along as much as I could of all the results of my strimming efforts of the last few days. Job not yet finished but certainly come a long way, even further than I thought I would be allowed.

Always amuses me on my visit to this yard, the number of oldtimer tractors that are taken out for a cruise to bring relatively small amounts of garden refuse. Not in the photo but just before one had been there with no more than two 10 litre buckets of weeds. The area is renowned for its passionate oldtimer tractor freaks.

The temperature has indeed dropped dramatically with daytime high at around or less than 15°C, half of what it has been. Flash, Luna and I enjoyed a cool evening walk which Angie went to gymnastics and a  sauna. At lunchtime, I had prepared a lasagne in the slow cooker and this was a welcome warm up evening meal when she got home.

At least working in the garden is a bit more comfortable at such temperatures although if in the direct sun it gets very warm.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.