Rodents rule

By squirk

Common blue damselfly

I caught up with Iain and the small mammal survey this morning. The traps had been left overnight, but the small mammals were being canny and were not to be seen. Iain said it can take a week or more before a trap can be sprung in the wild as they're really cautious about new items in their environment. Ah well. He's considering undertaking a longer survey in the future, which I would be keen to help with. There's a possibility of an amphibian and reptile survey, too. Yep, sign me up.

I returned to the newt pond afterwards and snapped this damselfly. There was no sign of the newts this time. I got lucky yesterday. As a treat, I scoffed an egg roll and fruit cake with coffee at the Rookery Cafe before heading home. 

It was far too hot to do anything at midday, so Juno and I enjoyed a cat nap. Then, I burnt some beans while I got carried away in the garden. I've managed to save most of the beans, but the kitchen still has that carcinogenic smell. 

Fred's on the Mull of Kintyre after a day in Northern Ireland, which he didn't enjoy much – busy roads, scary camping (some bloke with a rifle shooting rabbits near the tent – aargh!), and no OS maps for sale anywhere. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.