Rodents rule

By squirk

Dragon, ahoy!

I visited Twining's Tea shop on The Strand to stock up. I purchased a couple of new (to me) blends: liquorice, mint & fennel and rooibos, orange & cinnamon. The first one is especially delicious.

The blip is of Temple Bar Memorial, which has a dragon on the top and Queen Victoria on one side and Prince Albert on the other. They were the last royals to pass through a gate that used to be on this spot – on one side is Westminster and on the other the City of London. The gate was removed in 1878 because it was an obstacle to traffic and is now in Paternoster Square by St Paul's. 

A thunderstorm has threatened all day, but I felt only a few drops of rain on my cycle back from work, which was fortunate because I left all my waterproofs at home. 

I experienced three joyous moments of nature:
• breakfasting in the garden a fox cub appeared from behind the compost heap, eyed me cautiously, then scurried along the fence to the hole into next door's garden (a hole I suspect the cub created – handy for snacking on fallen bird food)

• cycling home, I watched a carrion crow hop along a row of parallel bicycle stands outside The Camberwell College of Art. It just hopped from one to the other... boing... boing... boing... boing... boing.

• this evening, I went to fetch Juno who was curled up in the garden by the fence. Opening the back door startled a fox cub who hurtled full pelt into Juno. Well, that woke him up! He was a bit hissy and put out, but no one was hurt, just startled. I must be more quiet with the door.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.