If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

30 Days Wild Day 24 - Dactylis glomerata

After "The Mate" had departed I had lots I wanted to get done.  The grass was the first important job.  The trimmings from part of the hedge and the grass would have filled the recycling bin with 12 days to go.  Result a trip to the "Tip" (sorry local recycling centre).  Fortunately only a couple of miles away.

My preferred route, not necessarily the shortest, is through "the gill" and along its quiet country road.  On the way back a stop provided plenty of wild blipertunities.  Of my possible shots I settled for this grass.

I know it is Cock's Foot but I understand it has many other common names.  In some parts of the world it is used as an animal feed/forage.  However the fact it is a tussock forming species means it is rarely if ever deliberately grown in the UK.  The tussocks over the years get large making using machines difficult.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.