The Tiny Toads

My husband and I walked up Tow Hill to the local gameland, and I looked down at my feet to discover what looked like crickets to me. Tiny little dark-colored hopping critters. But wait, they weren't crickets - they were toads!

You can see how little they were. Amazingly small. And hopping everywhere. I saw at least 50 of them, probably more. We were watching the ground very carefully, trying not to step on them.

Finally, we gave up and left the gameland. Silly as it may sound, we didn't want to step on and hurt any of the tiny toads. (I do not have a problem with knowing there may be critters who do better in our absence.)

But before we left, I couldn't resist - I picked up and fondled one tiny toad! I promise that I treated it well, and handled it only for a few seconds. Then I placed it gently and safely back down on the ground. No toads were harmed in the making of this Blip!

The song to go with this posting has to include the word little. So here are the Beatles, singing With a Little Help From My Friends.

P.S. I have posted several blips today to catch up. Please also check out:
Tiny Worlds of Water
Home Is Where the Hummingbirds Dance

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.