Oxford

I landed from Washington early this morning and after sleeping all morning I went to Oxford on the train - about 45 minutes from me.

The main reason for going was to see the stage production of a favourite book of mine - 84 Charingcross Rd. The book was turned into a stage play many years ago, and later into a movie, I believe in 1987. I’ve seen the movie SO many times I’ve lost count, but I’d never seen the play. When I found out it was doing a UK tour I just HAD to go!

I had several hours to play tourist. I wandered around outside Oxford Castle and the (former) prison - recently developed and opened to the public. Part of the prison building now houses a swanky hotel and I would very much like to stay there one day!

Oxford also has a fairly new shopping centre and I’d never been there before. I only took a brief look, I didn’t actually shop. The rooftop dining area was really impressive with many restaurants, a green for relaxing and a beautiful view of the spires of Oxford.

I was tempted to have dinner there but I had promised myself a dinner at the Nosebag restaurant where I have been visiting since the late 70s when my mum and I discovered it on one of my birthday shopping trips. It’s actually been open since 1970. Not only does it have delicious, mostly healthy food, it has HARDLY changed in all these years - the furniture, layout and many of the menu items are pretty much the same as they were 40 years ago. Very refreshing in this day and age. It was popular then and it’s popular now. No point in creating something new just for the sake of it!

The play itself was an interesting alternative to the movie. Once I got used to the differences I loved it, but I’ll probably always prefer the movie which stars Anne Bancroft and Anthony Hopkins. It’s a true story - mostly funny but with some tragedy too. Even though I know it so well, I STILL almost bawled at the end. The unfulfilled dream is just heartbreaking. It’s a story like this that makes me try not to put things off for ‘one day’.

All in all a great outing. Oxford is so close to me - I will have to visit again soon. ‘One Day’.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.