Home & Away

By HeidiAndDolly

Invasion And Family Camping

I went to visit and stay overnight at my sister’s today. You never quite know who you will see when you visit their house - adult children, grandchildren, extended family, church friends etc.

TODAY there was an invasion of cyclists! Jon, their middle child, lives in Esher, near London and is part of a cycle club there. Today they cycled to Avebury and back to Esher - about 300 km over a circular route. As they would be passing right by his parents house, he brought the whole group over for a pit stop. All 18 of them! Being the hospitable type that she is, my sister got ready tea, coffee, an assortment of cold drinks, water and ice cream! She was also looking after her two granddaughters and they sat in the middle and were a bit in awe of all these men (and only one woman!) in Lycra! The stop was very brief - they had a couple of more hours to go to get home so Jon and the others soon waved goodbye and off they went.

The MAIN reason for me coming to visit was because we had arranged a mini family campout! My sister just bought a new tent so she was trying it out in the garden. My youngest nephew and his wife also came to visit and I was giving them one of my tents so they were going to try it out for the first time. And I drove Alfie the campervan onto the back lawn and we turned it into a family camp site!

My two great-nieces LOVE the tents and were quickly playing in them and making dens of their own. Aneeta came to me and asked if I would read her this story before bed. We both enjoyed it. After the little ones were in bed the adults sat around the fire and made s’mores. A perfect end to the day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.