Sea Paddling

Today I had had enough of working on the kayak tent where they can sit safely through the winter. Today it's time to actually paddle the kayak!
We hatched a cunning plan involving walks, a flea market, coffee and cakes and a longer paddle on the Southern Sound.!
I dropped Jan off in Härnösand (seen in the far distance) and she and friend Rose walked from there out to Nickebo (See Jan's blip).  I drove directly to Nickebo, put the kayak into the southern sound and paddled southwards to Solumshamn. It's about 4 km, not far but the round trip is further than I've paddled for two years, and it's the first paddling test of the shoulder I injured in January.
The shoulder stood up well to the paddling but lifting myself out of that tiny cockpit it just didn’t want to cooperate. I shall have to work out some strengthening exercises for that particular manoeuvre.
I stretched my legs here for a while and then headed back to Nickebo where I met up with Jan and Rose, who had already checked out the flea market here and moved on to coffee and cakes. A sandwich and a coffee were welcome after my outing on the sea.

We did a little gardening on our return home but really we had a welcome day off today.  The kayak sits on the car ready for another trip tomorrow.
(The extra shows the rest of the Southern Sound, looking south to the open sea - another day, another paddle.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.