Where is the light?

I am heartsick because of what has been done by the Supreme Court this week, compounded by Justice Kennedy's resignation.  I don't know if we can recover from the damage to our democracy.  

I spent some time this afternoon looking up quotations about democracy, determined to post at least one on my door.  Here is one, stated by Ronald Reagan, of all people; even a conservative like him would not recognize the Republican Party of today.

The objective I propose is quite simple to state: to foster the infrastructure of democracy - the system of a free press, unions, political parties, universities - which allows a people to choose their own way to develop their own culture, to reconcile their own differences through peaceful means.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.