Life In Wales

By KarenC

A taste of the Orient

This morning I went for another session in the steam room at the gym to try and help shift this nasty virus - it's been a week now with no signs of it getting any better. In fact today, I've started to lose my voice and am sounding rather husky - which Alan says he quite likes!

Then this afternoon I took mum to visit the Chinese Pavillion and Japenese Tower in Brussels which have exhibits of Oriental Porcelain and art.

They were built on the edge of the royal estate in Laeken between 1901 and 1910, commissioned by King Leopold II - the same King who created the Africa Museum that I blipped earlier in the week.

They are magnificent buildings and the interior of each of them is incredible, so it was difficult to decide whether to blip the Pavillion, the Tower or some of the more 'arty' shots that I took inside. In the end I chose this one of the Pavillion as it's so ornate which you can see better close up. I've put a photo of the Japenese Tower in my blipfolio.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.