Seeds....

....taking over like some alien life form---Cottonwood seeds to be exact. Tom & I went to Grant Park Beach today, to enjoy a little walk in this fabulous sun, and the seeds were covering everything!!  Technically I think it's referred to as "cotton", rather than "seeds", and you can see why. Any depressions we saw in the sand had a bunch of seeds/cotton laying inside.....the log laying on the beach (main blip) was covered in cotton.....the grass (first extra) was covered in cotton. The second extra is a shot of the tree itself, with lots of cottonseeds still attached; you'll see, looking at the sky, that it almost appears to be snowing!  The air all around the beach area looked the same--full of cotton snow! I read that the cotton comes after pollination ends, and can blow up to 5 miles away. It only lasts for 2 weeks each year, and I'm really glad I got to see it "up close"; a first for me!   :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.