Santa Claus

It knows when I am sleeping
it knows when I'm awake
it knows if I've been bad or good
So I gotta be good for goodness sake....

This is the companies computer that is assigned to me - I call it HAL 9000

The reason I call it that is I swear it tries to kill me sometimes.. As noted on June 21 at 13:07 the Sudden Deceleration - A orange rubber traffic cone was in my lane.. Since it wasn't moving, and HAL considers non moving objects brick walls,  HAL decide I was trying to kill it, so the brakes were applied hard automatically, slowing down fast. My seat belt prevented me from going into the dashboard. A few cars gave me their horns and told me I was number 1. HAL can't see beside me or behind me.. It would have been much safer to just run the poor cone over.. And no, I can't turn the system off.

My two favorites are June 25th at 05:32 and 08:53. Unknown. Just driving along and something unknown happens.. That actually has the safety department puzzled.. Something happened that was out of the parameters of the computer program, that is what we know but you can't fix an unknown if you don't know which parameters were crossed..

Of course HAL doesn't like to be turned off.. Because this is a computer / tablet, it must be charged all the time. If we leave it on in the truck over the weekend, it will go completely dead.. then it will take 30 minutes of charging before we can start work on Monday.. I keep telling my boss these other things are HAL's revenge.. 

Of course I fear the day that HAL tells me "I'm sorry John, I'm afraid I can't do that.... "
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.