Descendant of dinosaurs

It would seem that the virus responsible for this particular lurgi, has taken pity on me after having tormented S with a persistent dry cough, as well as fatigue and low grade temperature (very cold sensitive). I have felt much better today than yesterday. Good enough to get in some supplies, and mid afternoon go to Western Springs Lake Park with the intention of getting a good photo of the Royal Spoonbills, which have set up home in some trees on a small island in the lake.

By the time I was there, the sun was low enough to shine right in my eyes when looking toward the spoonbill colony. Even worse was the light bouncing off the water directly at me, wherever I was (I understand the physics). I tried a couple of photos, with much interference from the excess light. 

There were plenty of birds around, and one of the most photogenic is the Pukeko (the New Zealand swamp hen). Pukeko frequent this particular clump of reeds just out from the shore. Probably for protection. They don't really need it. They are stroppy birds and stand up for themselves very staunchly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.