Chris Hall RIP

Truly shocking news this morning. One of my old college tutors, Chris Hall, died suddenly while on holiday in China with his wife. Chris was a really nice guy. He took the 'work experience' module during our HND course at Stevenson, which was mostly a facilitating role in a minor part of the course. Nevertheless he was always very encouraging and enthusiastic and eager to discuss all aspects of my photography whenever we met.
I saw him several times since and he continued to share his enthusiasm and experience whenever we met. He was only about ten years older than me. He worked in public administration for six years before becoming a freelance advertising and commercial photographer. For more than twenty years he worked for design and advertising agencies on behalf of major companies and public institutions in Britain and abroad. After retiring from commercial work he taught photography at both Stevenson College and Napier University. He had lots of tales to tell about finding work - I remember one about the importance of doing your best whatever the job. He was taking dull pictures of progress on building sites but treated the task as one to do as well as possible. The company started to build and renovate expensive flats and he then got a lucrative job photographing them for expensive brochures. Think the last time I saw him was at the degree show in the summer. He greeted me warmly, as always, and when I said I was a bit down about my lack of progress, he was very encouraging - 'it's only been a year, stick at it, you'll get there!' He always said to get in touch any time to discuss things, or show him your portfolio. Sadly I'll never have another chance to do that now.
He'll be sorely missed - my thoughts are with his family.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.