Thriller

I made a mistake last night. 

I stayed up until 01:30 to finish a book I was reading - Into a Raging Blaze by Andreas Norman. It’s a political thriller. Norman is Swedish, and spent 10 years working for the Ministry of Foreign Affairs - some of it in counterterrorism. 

It is a long, long time since I’ve read anything I just couldn’t put down. There would have been no point in trying to go to sleep earlier as I wouldn’t have slept. It is contemporary (2013), and relevant as we see the actions of the UK and the USA over the last year or two. 

I’m sure it’s just a work of fiction. Must be. Mind you, an anonymous comment on the cover from someone at the Swedish MFA reads “Uncannily close to the truth”.

Well, the predictable result of under 6 hours sleep at this end of the week has been a slow, tired day. Deskwork in the morning, and not much else achieved. I should have been out in the garden where lots of little jobs need my attention, but Blipping it was as close as I got. 

One of this year’s successes has been honeysuckle. A little hedge of it greets me as I leave the house, and the aroma is amazing. It’s past its best now, sadly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.