Long Term Project

For those of you that have been following my blip since the start you will know that this bike has given me no end of grief. No to mention a lot of money trying to track down a mystery power loss.

Well I might have finally been given some good advice. It came from a bike wrecker who refuased to sell me a second hand carby until I explained what was wrong with my bike. His advice was not to put another carby on but rather to pull the head off the engine and check it for cracks. Why? He has seen a lot of older bikes with the same problem. It has to do with the fact that the valves are so close to the spark plug. Long story but I was very grateful that he didn't just take my money, but rather opted to give me some advice. And of course he has the facility to test and fix the head, so I know where I will be taking it.

Now I have options. Buying a new head is not one of them. Yamaha want $1920 which is more than most car heads! A second hand one might work but then I gamble on having the same problem. I could also get it fixed which is about half the cost of a new head. At the moment I will content myself with pulling it to pieces. I am not really in the mood for spending the money on the bike at the moment.

So it is looking like a long term project. I am OK with that. I now have a goal.

I also looked at Jo's little car today. It has a habit of overheating on longer drives and on the motorway. It is an old car and the motor is small so my plan is to install an electric thermo fan to assist the cooling. I priced one today and it is looking very doable. I did inspect the radiator though and it isn't in the best of shape. So that is a good place to start. I will pull the radiator out as soon as we have a few spare days and send it in for reconditioning. Then I will see if the car runs cooler...then I will install the thermo fan.

Now for a quck snooze before work.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.