Life in Canada

By MissMacPic

Hot Mama

Officially on summer holidays now!!  This poor mama is definitely not on holidays as she has seven cygnets to care for.  This is the closest I have been to them and the first time I did not see the cob. While I was taking a million shots of them, I did hear an awful noise that actually had me worried as I did not know what animal could have made it and as I was standing in high grasses/reeds, I could not see what was around me.

I backed up slowly and then saw a flash of white so mad a dash for the water's edge again.  There he was....coming full steam towards me, all puffed up.  (What is with mistrusting males this week?????).  I backed slowly up again and at some point he decided that I was no longer a threat but he did keep his eye on me while he swam a little ways out.

I do think he may have been flirting at that point as he did not join his mate or his young but proceeded to preen extravagantly - all the while watching me.  At one point, I even gestured to his family and yelled out that he should join them....nope.  Quite the display which was nice.  I will eventually put some more photos up on my Facebook timeline as he was really something to watch!

Cygnets....check!

Have a super beginning to your weekend  : ))

D x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.