Stuck

"Do I have something in my teeth?"

Yes, you do. Here let me help....

Not quite how the conversation went with this very young snapper.  A very early morning surprise and one that had to be gently relocated/encouraged to go back towards the pond rather than onto the parking lot or road where it was headed. Its shell was approximately 7 inches in diameter....small compared to most I have seen around here. If it was a female, I wished it success in laying if that is why she was out and about so early.

Interesting facts:  Snapping Turtles take 15 to 20 years to reach maturity and can live over 100 years.  You can see why these turtles are protected as mortality rate is high before they ever reach maturity.  If the eggs are incubated between 23 C and 28 C, become males.  Any other temperature results in females.  Very cool...

I hope you are having a wonderful day!

D x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.