Calling all anglers

There's a declutter going on at the moment. Cameraman is painting the inside of a cupboard which hasn't seen the light of day for a while. Tucked in the back of it were my dad's old fishing rods. They were taken out about 25 years ago when our younger son had a fleeting flirtation with fishing but they've been away since then. They must be from the 1950s at the latest but might be older. There is one from Robert Turnbull of Edinburgh and one from Alex. Martin of Glasgow. One of the bags (if that's what you call them) is also from Turnbull's. See extra. It looks to me as if the angler on this bag has a lobster poking out of his basket which I can guarantee is not something my dad would have netted.

I looked on a few fly fishing forums for information about these firms but it seems they're long gone. I feel I should offer them to an angling museum but I imagine they were 10 a penny so wouldn't really be wanted.

Any fishing blippers got a clue?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.