Birmingham New Street shimmering in the sun

What I really wanted to bring you today was a blip of what must be a unique collection of gas meters from 1864 to 2016. The older ones are works of art and beautifully crafted Victorian ironwork. They are housed at the National Grid office in Solihull where I was today. But sadly, because it is a private building, I wasn't allowed to take the photograph. Frankly I don't understand the reasoning but I could see there was no winning over the security guys.

My second choice would have been Birmingham Moor Street station which is absolutely wonderful and if you can ever get there please visit it. But my attempts at a blip there weren't successful.

So here is the front of New Street Station which is pretty fab in a different way. I think so anyway.

Just got aboard the 17:15 train for Glasgow. A long haul till bedtime

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.