NellieD

By NellieD

Usually on a Saturday I'm hosting an event with my book or crochet/knit group. With a combined membership of over 900, they keep me very busy! 

Since today is National Armed Forces Day, and there's no event in my diary, I thought I'd have a look at the Fusiliers Museum. My great grandfather was in the Lancashire Fusiliers and as I've researched a lot of my family tree, I have his full service history and know all about his role in World War I - although I can't imagine what they all went through.

He was shot with a dum dum bullet and his leg was removed in the field (apparently by an enemy soldier who saved his life). He carried the bullet in his pocket until the day he died, and my mum now has it.

The Gallipoli Garden in the grounds of the museum had these amazing war time posters on the wall.  
It reminded me of the Keep Calm and Carry On poster which has been trivialised and parodied in recently years.  Originally it was one of three World War II posters that the Government was going to release to offer reassurance to the public as they faced the dark days ahead.  
It's a wonderful little story: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FrHkKXFRbCI 

The bench in the Gallipoli Garden is inscribed with the words '6 VC's before breakfast', in recognition of the bravery shown by the 1st Battalion of the Lancashire Fusiliers after the successful capture of "W Beach".

My extra is their inventive method of planting flowers!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.