Allotment time

After a tiring day at work I left earlyish and got home just before 6, as the boys headed out to the gym. I sat down with a cup of tea before doing a few odd jobs - nothing exciting, but reading the meter was a challenge as the garage is full of wood to build the summer house. That done, and readings submitted, I did some bits for dinner.

After dinner I cycled to the Allotment, and there began the challenge to dig out a few potatoes. The first row had died back and I wasn't sure whether they might be earlies. Digging normal soil is a pleasure, but I needed a pick axe or hammer and chisel to get these potatoes out! I had to give up on two plants as I couldn't physically get my fork in the ground!

I moved on a picked mange tout, raspberries and collected the one egg Minnie had kindly laid. Dotty and Babs have both gone broody again!

With hardly any water left in our tank nothing is being watered. I ration it and give a bit to my 4 courgette plants. I also take a water carrier full in my bike basket each time I go, and if the chickens don't need it.

The materials arrived today to finish the base, so that will be Jon's job tomorrow night. Luckily he isn't interested in the football....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.