Weeping Window

I'd been wanting to see the Weeping Window intallation at Carlisle Castle and had the ideal opportunity today. It was a scaled-down version of the 2014 Blood Swept Lands and Seas of Red at the Tower of London.

It must have been wonderful and moving to see the original representation of those who lost their lives in WW1 but nice that they have taken this version around the country. So The Man, The Bro-in-Law and I went.

I took with me my own poppy bought form the Tower display and stood holding it  having my photo taken with it in front of the installation. I thought it would give me a blip different to the other local ones blipped. When I reviewed my images I decided against it. I was smiling!  Somehow it seemed to trivialise the event after those of the Duchess of Cambridge in tears in 2014.

The evening ended very nicely with a barbecue at The Bro-in-Laws. He hadn't had it out and lit since living on his own and I thought it was time we took the covers off the nice patio table and chairs and opened a bottle of wine!

EDIT: Just to add to this: When my purchased Tower of London poppy arrived, my elderly mother was in hospital. I took it, in its presentation box onto the ward, and showed it to her, then I took it around and showed it to the other elderly patients so they could see what these ceramic poppies, representing WW1 British & Colonial fallen soldiers, were like.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.