BUSY RAILWAY STATION

Morrisons this morning. Then off to Newcastle. Had to go to the railway station to pick up some tickets for a journey later this month.  Decided to use the movement of passengers on the concourse  for my blip shot.  The Wide Wednesday theme today is Movement. Thanks to BobsBlips for hosting.

Then I headed for the Discovery Museum as I had booked a slot to see Stephenson's iconic locomotive  - Rocket.

Though the Rocket was not the first steam locomotive, it was the first to bring together several innovations to produce the most advanced locomotive of its day. It is the most famous example of an evolving design of locomotives by Stephenson that became the template for most steam engines in the following 150 years.
The locomotive was preserved and is usually on display in the Science Museum in London. It is on loan to The Discovery Museum during The Great Exhibition of The North.

My slot was for 3pm but I got there early so I could look round the rest of the Museum.  I could see lots of schoolchildren seeing the Rocket in the slot before mine but when it was my turn there were just a handful of people in the group. Its free to get up close to the Rocket and see the special exhibition but you need to book a slot. I have put a photo of the exhibit in my Extras. I also took a shot of the Rocket Snowdog - its also an Extra.

I went to Waitrose afterwards.  There was an abusive drunk man in there who started getting aggressive with the security guard when he saw he was watching him.  Got quite nasty but the security guard and manager got him out of the store eventually.  Then when I was at the checkout a very rude lady customer was abusive to one of staff.  She was objecting to being directed to which checkout was free.  This is what happens in Waitrose - a member of staff stands at the head of the queue and tells you when a checkout is free.  I have no idea why this lady got annoyed at this.  Maybe she was just in a bad mood anyway.    So that was two incidents in Waitrose.  Next I went to Poundland - and saw the security guard catch a shoplifter.  It was all happening in town today!

Steps today - 13,100

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.