He would have been 90 today

My late husband Douglas was born on 3rd July 1928 and he passed away on 29th September 2001. Its hard to imagine him as a 90 year old.  I wonder if he would have still be dressing in the colourful outfits he loved so much. 

He went from being a schoolboy in a uniform to wearing a suit working in a bank.  Then he joined the Palestine Police - another uniform.  Back to London to become a Metropolitan policeman - a uniform again.  Then working for an insurance company so back to wearing a suit and tie.  So after work and at weekends he never wore a suit and dressed as casually, and colourfully as he could.  And when he retired he only wore a suit on special occasions. 

The collage shows a number of colourful outfits - including the " dreaded " shell suits which he loved when they were in fashion - and even when they had gone out of fashion. 

The top left photo is the first photo ever taken of the two of us together.  It was 1979. We hadn't been going out for very long.   He was aged 51 and I was 28.  We had driven to the coast straight after work which is why he is still wearing a suit.

Its been lovely looking through old photos today and picking out some for my collage. So glad that when he was alive I took loads of photos - they bring back lots of happy memories.

Just had a day near to home today.  Walked down to the village for a bit of shopping.  Then I tackled the overgrown bushes,brambles and nettles in the lane outside my back gate.  Its not my responsibility but as I use the path as my route to and from the village during the summer months I need to keep it clear.  I also trimmed a few of the lower branches on my holly tree to let a bit of light through at the bottom of the garden.  There were lots of nettles in the back lane and I was wearing a short sleeved top as the weather was very warm - so my arms are stinging this evening due to contact with the nettles.

And in other news ........................... England won a penalty shoot out in the World Cup.  England were playing Colombia.  The score was level after full time and extra time.  Then came the nerve wracking penalty shoot out.  But England triumphed.  Amazing.  Can't wait till 3pm on Saturday when they face Sweden in the quarter finals.  

Steps today - 12,644

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.