Great Falls

Talk about biting off more than you can chew!  We went early this morning hoping to beat the heat and the crowds at Great Falls on the Potomac and ultimately beating neither.  While my husband did his 40-minute run, I made my way to Olmstead Island and the Falls overlook.  I have never before seen so many Great Blue Herons down on the rocks next to the rapids. I watched this one for about 20 minutes as it wrestled with this enormous catfish. (it's better in Large).  Before long the black vultures moved closer and waited. See Extra. Not sure how this saga ended as it was just too hot and as soon as my husband showed up we left.  I have included a shot of the falls in extras as well.

We enjoyed a traditional 4th of July cookout this evening of hamburgers, hot dogs, salads, fresh corn on the cob and then watched the entertainment first from the Capitol and then from New York City followed by incredible fireworks....all from the comfort and cool of our family room. I hope everyone has had an enjoyable 4th holiday.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.