Miniature Guggenheim....

....in the fog.

This is a model of the Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum in NYC that was built by my husband.  He used to like to build models when he was a boy, and during our last visit to the museum, we saw a museum model kit in the gift shop and bought it.  My husband finished it rather quickly and I thought the results were really nice.  To give you an idea of its size, it sits on a base that is about 3 inches x 5 inches.  

The real Guggenheim, designed by Frank Lloyd Wright, is a white building, so I thought that I would convert it to black and white to see if I could make it look a little more realistic.  Our son lives right across Central Park from the Guggenheim so we see it often in all kinds of weather.  That's why I thought maybe some fog might help. Not sure about all of that, but here it is.  I took multiple shots using different lenses and finally settled on this one shot with the Lensbaby Composer Pro and Sweet 50 optic.

I have loaded the color version in the extras so you can see what the model actually looks like.  My husband so enjoyed making this that he went looking for another building.  It turns out that the company, located in Australia, only makes two well-known iconic building models, this one, and the Sydney Opera House.  The Opera House kit arrived in the mail just before Father's Day as a gift from our boys.  I will blip it when it is done. Hopefully, I'll have figured out how to create the harbor......

Many thanks to HollieGirl for hosting Tiny Tuesday this month.  She has come up with some terrific themes, so please have a look on the Challenges page to see what is coming up. 

Happy 4th to all. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.