Banchory Bangs.

Ahhh, Saturday. M was away early for his flight to London this morning, but I lazed in bed a little longer... Bliss. If only I'd had the electric blanket! We must rescue it from M's Mum and Dad's soon. After a long lie, I headed out and bought myself breakfast at the shop, then sat and ate it while watching Saturday kitchen. I love weekends. I called Mum for a chat, uploaded yesterday's Blip and then began the massive task of cleaning the house. After moving into the new house, we keep saying we'll get a cleaner, as it's so big it's a pain to clean when M and I work long hours in our jobs. I've been put in charge of finding a company, but I'm so picky I'm struggling to reliquish responsibility, and as a result I've not even called one company yet. I should really do it next week!

I spent a long time making the place sparkley and was quite pleased with the result - it will be nice to come back to on Sunday. This evening I'd made plans with A to see the Banchory fireworks, and A's brother kindly offered to drive me out there. After I'd spruced myself up a bit, he picked me up and we made our way out of the city in the fading light. When we reached A's house, she was feeding baby F, who is beginning to 'coast' around rooms, holding onto furniture. This process inevitably results in a few bumps and a bit of landing on his bum unexpectedly - unfortunately on one of those bumps today he'd bitten his tongue and left quite a gash. When he stuck it out at me later I was really shocked and at my reaction, poor F burst straight into tears. Poor wee poppet. A tells me that the tongue is the fastest-healing part of the body, and he doesn't seem too bothered by it (as long as no one looks shocked when he shows them).

He was a star at the fireworks - I thought he might be upset by the bangs and pops, but he just wasn't bothered. He looked quite nonplussed at the sparklers, but A and I had a good time waving them about anyway! A's brother, his fiancee and his fiancee's sister were with us too, and we had a great time watching first the bonfire and then the impressive firework display. I was torn between two photos - this, which makes the fireworks look quite unspectacular, or the one on my Blipfolio - which is a less good picture, but shows how amazing the display was.

We headed home with cold feet to cosy up on the sofa with some veggie sausage stew from A; perfection.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.