Little Library

I woke up in Washington DC this morning. I KNEW it was going to be HOT! And I had said I wasn’t going to stray from my air conditioned hotel room. But in the end I did - just to get a breakfast sandwich. I was out at about 930 and decided I would go ear it in a nearby park. Surely I could cope with the heat at that time of day?? Well, only just! It was pretty unbearable - certainly much hotter than it had been in the U.K., even with our own heat wave!

The park is a pretty little park with plenty of benches in the shade. They also have one of these ‘Little Free Libraries’ where people can drop off or pick up books. There was nothing that interested me, but I had a good browse!

A few days ago I was also in DC when the skies were dark and ominous. Bottom right is almost the same view that I blipped that day, but with brighter blue sky! I love this beautiful building.

Another thing I found on my walk was this very quirky plant with a beautiful spiral leaf. It’s not just the pattern on the lead that is a spiral - the whole leaf is a spiral. Do any of you plant people know what it is? I’d love to have one in MY garden!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.