From the dark corner.....

By Rozwood1970

Peas be with you

Funny things, peas. They are quite irritating really. Whenever you have them, you always get a few which are desperate to escape your fork and make a bid for freedom across the table. I'm really horribly embarrassed to tell you that the the last time I had peas with my jumbo fish finger and chips at the Dog and Doublet, a couple bounced off the edge of my plate and rolled towards the table edge. I stared at them for a split second before a childish urge overtook me and I flicked them with my thumb and forefinger through the air and they landed in the hood of a lady's coat a few tables further over. GOAL!! No one saw me thank goodness. What a dreadful confession to make!

When I was very small and I used to go to mass on Sundays with Mom, I was often confused with the bit when the priest said 'Let us offer each other the sign of peas', and then everyone had to shake hands with the people around them saying 'Peas be with you'. Some old codgers had been snorting into their grubby handkerchiefs throughout the early part of the mass and their hands certainly looked full of peas....(I expect I'll be struck down by lightning after that remark).

Track? Quite easy really. AC/DC - R.I.P. (Rock in Peas)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.