"Jules Rimet Still Gleaming"

I'm not into football but decided to watch the match with MrQ. I took Ollie for a walk down the field at half time. As it is National Meadows Day I was hoping to capture an Essex skipper butterfly amongst the long grass and wild flowers, with old family friend Stephen and his late, butterfly expert mother in mind. Lots of skippers but no Essex. :(

I captured this bedraggled robin, it has a young family as I could hear the fledglings cheeping. This pleased me as I when I saw Bert, another old family friend, the other day he told me that he's not that keen on the insects that I blip but likes the little birds.

England were wearing red tops and I took the robin to be a sign of good luck. It was not misplaced. A wonderful win for England. :) The first I knew of the World Cup in 1966 was when people who I was staying with in France on an exchange visit started congratulating me.

I looked up the lyrics of Football's Coming Home. 

"Three lions on a shirt
Jules Rimet still gleaming
Thirty (now 52) years of hurt
Never stopped me dreaming"

A bit late but I'm getting into the beautiful game, my father would be pleased. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.