Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Days of Summer

I've tended not to go out early in the morning during these hot summer days.  Something that comes naturally at other times of the year is just too much of a challenge when sunrise is so early.  My experience the week before last in the Lakes taught me they are still the times I love most so I got out just after sunrise for a walk and came across this scene on the local canal.

Not that I didn't suffer for my art; the insects were certainly biting first thing, and it took all of my patience to ignore them while I set up this shot.  

One of my other shots was of a field of oats, back lit by the sun and it was only as I arrived back home and checked the image that I realised I'd caught a deer crossing the view.  I've added it as an extra to see how quickly you you spot it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.