Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Gratitude, Charity and Patience

We went up to a rehab hospital late yesterday to see my friend Alice who has had a really bad year of being ill.  Cancer scare, blood clot, bronchitis and pneumonia, now she has broken her leg.    She is very upbeat and trying hard to get back to standing up (so weak and has dizzy spells.)   She really is trying hard..and she said it gives her lots of time to color in her butterfly coloring book.  What a great thing for adults who like to color!!  We enjoyed our visit with her!   I took her a few slices of that pound cake.  Sharing my time and my cooking is a virtue..CHARITY.     

When we came home it was getting toward sunset so we drove the way that we would cross over the bridges at the lake just in case the sunset was colorful.  It was not..no clouds....just a big orange ball of heat.  But this cove was so still and calm and it just made me feel so peaceful to see it.   I am GRATEFUL for all the ordinary things that make me happy. 

 

And I have been trying to be PATIENT today because my dog, Gypsy, is having surgery to remove a lump/mass on her back.  The good news is the vet called and she has completed the surgery and they are in the process of letting the dog wake up.   Grateful for their expertise and caring for her.  They will watch her until late this afternoon and then I can go pick her up.   And PATIENCE will be in huge demand for the next 7 to 10 days as she heals.  No going outside except on her leash as no running after squirrels or deer is allowed.   She is so used to going in and out whenever she wants as she knows how to open the door with her foot if we don't shut it tightly.  She will expect this to keep happening and it won't.    This week might not be too bad as she won't feel like doing much but as she improves she might get a little mad at me for not letting her out.      

Thanks to si_b for hosting monomonday with the virtue and vice theme.   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.